British Columbia Library Association

Board Nominations & Elections

The 2021 Call for Nominations is now closed.


In past years the composition and work of the Nominations Committee were outlined in the BCLA Bylaws. Changes to BCLA Bylaws, determined by the new Societies Act in November 2018, mean that the process and procedure for providing members with a slate of candidates for Boards positions is now being reviewed by the Board to determine a BCLA policy.

Nominations Committee Members 2021

Pia Russell
Adam Farrell
Allison Sullivan
Todd Mundle
Anne O’Shea
Chris Middlemass
Annette DeFaveri (ex officio)

A strong Board of Directors, committed to the goals of the Association’s Strategic Plan, is essential for the growth and stability of the Association. In considering potential candidates, the Committee looks closely at Board work for the coming year as well as at people’s previous engagement with and contributions to the Association. We look specifically for potential Board members who are excited to contribute to the Association and who prioritize both the BCLA’s Strategic Plan and core values.


The BCLA Board of Directors and Nominations Committee are pleased to announce a slate of candidates for the 2021/22 BCLA Board of Directors.

A strong Board of Directors committed to the Association’s values and to the goals of the Association’s Strategic Plan is essential for the growth and stability of the Association. In considering potential candidates, the Nominations Committee looked closely at Board work for the coming year as well as at people’s previous engagement with, and contributions to, the Association. The Committee looks specifically for potential Board members who are excited to contribute to the Association and who prioritize BCLA’s Strategic Plan, core values, and continuing role in the BC library sector.

Incoming President/President (Four-year term)

Tracey Therrien

Tracey is the Chief Librarian at the Nelson Public Library. She came to library work later in life. After rediscovering the magic of public libraries while living and working in Montreal, she moved back to BC and completed the Langara College’s Library & Information Technician diploma. Since then, she has been fortunate to work in four public libraries as a Library Director in varied and beautiful rural regions in BC. Along the way she completed a Masters in Library Science, and has served on multiple boards, including eight-years with the BC Libraries Cooperative.

Tracey is passionate about the role Libraries play in ensuring individuals have equitable access to information and are free welcoming public spaces for all. She enjoys being challenged every day and learning from colleagues on how best to uphold these values. While acknowledging that much has been achieved in this regard in recent years, there remains important work to be done. Tracey believes BCLA is well positioned to advance these goals. She has witnessed and benefited from the actions of BCLA in supporting libraries towards this, through the work of committees and the Board at regional, provincial, and national levels.

Incoming Treasurer/Treasurer Elect (two-year term)

Donald Taylor

Donald Taylor is the Copyright Officer and Head of Interlibrary Loans at Simon Fraser University. He has had the pleasure of serving as the BCLA representative to the CFLA Copyright Committee since 2018. As part of this role, Donald keeps the BCLA Board apprised of copyright developments and their effects on libraries, drafts BCLA responses to federal copyright consultations and together with other BCLA members provides periodic copyright updates to the BC library community. Donald’s been involved in InterLibrary Loans since 2008 and recognizes the fundamental value of resource sharing and the role it plays in ensuring equitable access for library users. Donald was also the Treasurer for the SFU Faculty Association in 2009 and 2010.

Two Director-at-Large positions (each a two-year term)

Jorge Cardenas

Jorge Cardenas is the Manager of Community Development at Burnaby Public Library, adjunct instructor at the UBC School of Information, and a graduate of the University of Toronto/CULC Public Library Leaders Program. A BCLA member since 2013, he has participated actively in several areas:
– Co-chair of the Multicultural Services Committee and member of the Community- Led Libraries Interest Group.
– Mentor in the BCLA Mentorship Program since 2018.
– Co-chair BCLA Conference 2019.
– Selector BCLA Conference 2018, 2019, 2021.
– Published several articles in BCLA Perspectives.
– Presenter BCLA Conference 2015, 2018, 2019, 2021.
His professional practice focuses on community development in libraries from an EDI perspective, services to immigrants, and anti-racism, topics he also presents and writes about regularly.

Alyssa Green

Alyssa is currently the Neighbourhood Services Manager of the Southwest Area with the Vancouver Public Library. She has worked in various library settings, with significant recent experience at the Vancouver Public Library. She started at VPL in 2014 as the manager of Info-Action, the Library’s fee-for-service division. She currently manages four different service areas and has led a number of strategic projects. Alyssa has an MLIS and a business degree, and broad knowledge of marketing, human resources, labour relations, and finance.

Alyssa has been involved with BCLA in several ways, from presenting at the annual conference to being on the Perspectives Board. During this time, she led an evaluation of Perspectives, which resulted in the renaming of the publication from the Browser to Perspectives and the complete reforming of the editorial strategy.

Alyssa brings an important skillset to the Association as well as a commitment to advancing BCLA’s voice in shaping the future of libraries.


In accordance with past practice, the BCLA Board of Directors and Nominations Committee announcement of  an election slate of candidates is an opportunity to call for additional nominations for the BCLA Board.

A nominee must be a member of BCLA and be nominated by three other members of the Association. Should there be additional candidates, BCLA will quickly mount an election.

If you are interested in BCLA Board Positions, the Nominations Committee suggests that you contact BCLA Executive Director, Annette DeFaveri (, for additional information.