Library Technicians' & Assistants' Section of the British Columbia Library Association Annual General Meeting

October 19, 2012 6:30pm - 8:50pm Surrey City Centre Library, UHNBC in Prince George

Chair: Tamarack Hockin Online Moderator: Sandra Cole

Guest Speaker: Chris Middlemass, BCLA Board Minutes: Ashley Van Dijk & Tracey Bergey Elections Officers: Dan Vitaly & Anita Thompson

I. Attendees

Aaron MacPherson	Tamarack Hockin	Laura Third	Trish Snesar
Alison Klein	Renee Zonlinski-Ward	Susan Burdak	Vaunda Dumont
Stephen Karr	Tracy Bergey	Anita Thompson	Mandi Schwarz
Sandra Cole	Bradley Gordon	Ashley Van Dijk	Danell [?]
Chris Findlay	Christina Neigel	Taya Lawton	Dawn Keller
Heather Duff	Chris Middlemass	Liza Capdecoume	Norm Barry
Charlee Jennings	John Park	Dan Vitaly	Shanna Meunier
Linda Laronde	Christine Libera	Jeffrey Libby	??

Meeting called to order approximately 6:40 pm

II. Remarks From The Chair

III. Chris Middlemass (Director, BCLA Board)

i. Presentation on BCLA Board

Chris Middlemass has been working within the Vancouver Public Library system 30 years, in a variety of positions during her career. She has been a BCLA member and volunteer during that time as well. BCLA is run almost solely with volunteers and the focus is the annual conference.

Often people wonder why join a provincial association such as BCLA and the biggest reason indicated in the 2011 Member Survey was networking and collaborating with collogues and/or peers. BCLA is striving to create stronger connections within BC and not simply within the Greater Vancouver Area and Lower Mainland areas. It is hoped that technology will play a part in this goal and BCLA has receive a grant through Libraries and Literacy to work on at revitalizing the website.

Chris discussed the priorities of BCLA, which are advocacy, professional development, to improve communications with sections and interest groups, as well as a continuing focus on the annual conference.

ii. Q&A with membership

7:20 pm - Refreshment Break

7:40 pm - Reconvened

IV. Constitution & Bylaws

Note to membership: LTAS Executive has been renamed (internally) from "LTAS Board" to avoid confusion with BCLA Board and to have closer consistency with our Constitution & Bylaws, item 3. Executive Committee.

Item 4.1 in Bylaws: **Motion** to submit changes to the terms served by Executive Committee members in all LTAS positions from two (2) years to one (1) year.

Motion put forward by Stephen Karr, seconded by Jeffrey Libby - PASSED unanimously

Item 4.2 in Bylaws: **Motion** to submit change that positions be held until the following AGM or until another predetermined date.

Motion put forward by Charlee Jennings and seconded by Bradley Gordon - PASSED unanimously

The above changes to items 4.1 and 4.2 in LTAS Bylaws will be submitted to BCLA as per terms of LTAS' Constitution & Bylaws item 11.1 (Amendments to the constitution & bylaws).

V. Elections

LTAS Executive Committee

Officers of the Section as per Constitution& Bylaws:

- i. Chair: Tamarack Hockin
- ii. Chapter Chairs:
 - a. Fraser Valley: Tamarack Hockin and Ashley Van Dijk
 - b. Prince George: Liz Tait and Vaunda Dumont
 - c. Vancouver: Sandra Cole and Jeffrey Libby
- iii. Recording Secretary: Anita Thompson nominates Tracy Bergey, who accepted the position

Other members of the Executive as per Constitution& Bylaws

- i. Blog Coordinator: Heather Duff
- ii. Website Coordinator and Forum Moderator: Stephen Karr
- iii. Social Media Coordinator: Stephen Karr and Phil Menger
- iv. Publications Liaison: left open; referred to the Executive
- v. Marketing and Design Coordinator: Liza Capdecoume
- vi. Continuing Education Coordinator: Shanna Meunier
- vii. Careers Coordinator: Mandi Schwartz
- viii. Accreditation & Credentialling Liaison: Jeffrey Libby
- ix. YAACS Liaison: Tracy Bergey nominated Chris Findley, who accepted the position
 - a. **Motion** put forward to combine the positions of Student Liaisons from LTAS and Student Representatives from BCLA BCLA, resulting in one (1) student in each position (Langara and UFV).
 - Motion put forward by Jeffrey Libby and seconded by Heather Duff PASSED unanimously
- x. Langara Student Liaison: Taya Lawton

- xi. UFV Student Liaison: Bradley Gordon
- xii. Members at Large: Anita Thompson, Dan Vitaly, Alison Klein, Charlee Jennings, and Norm Berry

Meeting closed at 8:30pm