British Columbia Library Association

The BCCATS J. McRee Elrod Leadership Award

Congratulations to Rachel Rogers of Greater Victoria Public Library, recipient of  the 2020 BCCATS J. McRee Elrod Leadership Award!

Since 2014, the BCCATS Technical Services Award has recognized individuals or work teams demonstrating levels of excellence that have made a palpable difference to users and colleagues in British Columbia in the area of Technical Services. In the fall of 2016, the award was rededicated to honour J. McRee (Mac) Elrod (1932-2016), a founder of BCCATS, drawing inspiration from Mac’s lifelong dedication to patron-centred values, social justice, and intellectual freedom.  This new iteration preserves the focus of previous awards but reframes it in the context of a) integrating our work more seamlessly with traditional point-of-contact public services, b) making collections management and resource discovery more responsive, transparent, and directly visible, and c) advocacy for unfiltered, unbiased patron access to information by improving the discovery and fulfillment of library resources.

Nomination criteria will include at least some of the following:

Examples of activities having an impact on Technical Services in BC might include:

How to nominate a candidate for the BCCATS J. McRee Elrod Leadership Award:

The deadline to submit nominations is Tuesday, March 10, 2020. The nomination form can be submitted via email to Richard Violette at Please note: Both first-time nominees and resubmissions of runner-ups from recent past years are welcome.  All levels of library staff may be nominated.

The award will be presented at the BCLA Annual Conference Awards Lunch on April 17, 2020. Nominees or their institutions are required to be BCLA members.

The 2019/20 BCCATS J. McRee Elrod Leadership Award Committee:

Sheri Ostapovich (Legislative Library of British Columbia:

Ryan Vernon (Langara College:

Trevor Smith (Douglas College:

Richard Violette (Special Libraries Cataloguing, Inc.:, BCCATS Chair, ex officio.


Please email Richard Violette if you have any questions regarding the BCCATS J. McRee Elrod Leadership Award.


Previous Recipients of the BCCATS J. McRee Elrod Leadership Award (known as the BCCATS Technical Services Award, 2014-2016):

2014: Nancy Stuart, University of Victoria

2015: Linda Woodcock, Kwantlen Polytechnic University

2016: Penny Swanson, Simon Fraser University

2017: no award given

2018: Susan Andrews, University of British Columbia

2019: Sarah Ogden, Vancouver Island University

2020: Rachel Rogers, Greater Victoria Public Library