The Young Adult and Children’s Services Section established the YAACS Award in 2012 to recognize exceptional service in the area of children’s or teen librarianship in British Columbia. The Young Adult and Children’s Services Award invites nominations of librarians, library technicians, teacher-librarians and others who have, as individuals or teams, demonstrated exceptional dedication in such areas as:

  • Commitment to quality service to children, teens, caregivers and supporting organizations
  • Collaboration and partnerships with their community
  • Promotion of family literacy
  • Innovation and creativity applied to the benefit of young people

Completed nominations may be sent to the YAACS Award Committee at [email protected]. Individual nominees or institutions (in the case of a team nomination) are required to be  BCLA members.

2024 YAACS Award Committee

Andria Huculak (Chair)
Vanessa Bedford Gill
Kate Differ
Mel Edgar
Katharine Shipley


Past Winners

2024 Ginny Dunnill
2023 Sara Grant
2022 Sonia Zagwyn
2021 Melodie Rae Storey
2020 Youth Services Team at the West Vancouver Memorial Library
2019 Lindsey Krabbenhoft & Christie Menzo
2018 Tess Prendergast
2017 Colleen Nelson
2016 Heather Gloster
2015 Jess Dafoe
2014 Judi Saltman
2013 Ellen Heaney and Amy Dawley
2012 Sharon Freeman and Allison Taylor-McBryde

Join the Conversation

Check out what everyone is discussing over on the forum BCLA Young Adult and Children’s Services here. Must be a member of BCLA or a forum member to view & discuss.